New Montana laws for 2018 include higher vehicle fees, apprenticeship tax credit

(HELENA) With the start of the new year, drivers in Montana will be paying more to register their vehicles.

During last year’s state legislative session, lawmakers approved increased fees to help fund the Motor Vehicle Division. The changes came as part of a broader highway and transportation funding package.

Starting Jan. 1, MVD will add a 3 percent administrative charge to its current fees, including vehicle registration. That will amount to about $6 extra to register cars, pickups and other light vehicles that are four years old or newer. The fees are lower for older vehicles.