Greg Gianforte

Governor-elect Gianforte Names Key Transition Advisory Team for Two Agencies

BOZEMAN, Mont. – Governor-elect Greg Gianforte today announced his joint-transition advisory team for the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) and the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ).

The advisory team will identify and review candidates to serve as the next directors of the DNRC and DEQ and will forward their recommendations to Governor-elect Gianforte.

“We can responsibly develop our abundant resources and simultaneously protect our environment, but for too long, state government has stood in the way with DNRC and DEQ serving as project prevention departments. With the right leadership at these agencies, we can eliminate needless delays, streamline permitting processes, protect our environment, and create more good-paying Montana jobs,Gianforte said.

This is the third of many transition advisory teams the governor-elect will establish to assist in identifying exceptional candidates to serve as agency heads and members of related boards. Earlier this week, Gianforte announced transition teams for the Department of Public Health and Human Services and the Department of Corrections.

All members of the DNRC/DEQ Transition Advisory Team serve in a voluntary capacity and are not compensated for their time.

Last week, Gianforte launched, a website in which individuals may submit their credentials for consideration to serve Montana, including leading state agencies.

Members of Governor-elect Gianforte’s DNRC/DEQ Transition Advisory Team follow:

Scott Aspenlieder – co-founder and owner of Performance Engineering, a civil engineering firm; public member of the 2019-2020 Environmental Quality Council

Chris Budeski – engineer and owner of Madison Engineering, a civil engineering firm

Bud Clinch – former DNRC director; former executive director of the Montana Coal Council

Colleen Coyle – owner of Coyle Law PLLC in Bozeman; attorney specializing in water rights and property law

Eugene Graf IV – former president of the Montana Building Industry Association; owner of EG Construction in Bozeman

Tom Hauptman – owner of KGH Operating Co.

Steve Marks – owner of Marks Lumber

Doug Martens – Rosebud County Commissioner; President of the Montana Association of Counties; rancher

Alan Olson – executive director of the Montana Petroleum Association

Chuck Roady – vice president and general manager of Stoltze Land & Lumber Co.; former director of Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation;

Nancy Schlepp – vice president of communications and corporate secretary for Sandfire Resources America, Inc.; former Meagher County Commissioner; rancher

Chas Vincent – former Montana state senator (SD-1) who chaired the Senate Natural Resources Committee

Kyle Weaver – president and CEO of the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation

Press release provided by Gov-Elect Gianforte Transition Office