MSU honors 40 students, mentors with Founders Day Awards for Student Excellence

BOZEMAN — Forty of Montana State University’s top seniors and their faculty and staff mentors will be recognized Friday, Feb. 16, at the 42nd annual Founders Day Awards for Student Excellence event held on the MSU campus.

Honored students are nominated by faculty in their respective colleges or departments. Qualified nominees must have at least a 3.0 GPA and demonstrated campus leadership and community service.

The honored students each select a mentor who will be recognized with them at the event, which is hosted by the MSU Alumni Foundation. Individuals who would like to attend the event, which will be held in the Strand Union Building ballrooms, are asked to purchase $30 general admission tickets and register by Feb. 9 by visiting

The 2024 Excellence Award winners, listed by their college, name, major, hometown and mentor are:


College of Agriculture

  • Siera Harrison, Animal Science, Steamboat Springs, Colo., Elizabeth Greenfield.
  • Joe Lackman, Agricultural Education, Hysham, Elizabeth Greenfield.
  • Jordan Smith, Natural Resources and Rangeland Ecology, Deer Lodge, Bok Sowell.
  • Gracie Tooke, Microbiology, Ekalaka, Kelley Kane.


College of Arts and Architecture

  • Marissa Giese, Environmental Design and German Studies, Belgrade, Nathan Stark.
  • Alex Sanders, Graphic Design, Lakewood, Colo., Jeffrey Conger.
  • Aidan Slider, Integrated Lens Based Media, Dubois, Wyo., Tony Purpura.


Jake Jabs College of Business and Entrepreneurship

  • Jack Evans, Business Management, Redmond, Wash., Hans Dierenfeldt.
  • Tayla Moeykens, Business Marketing, Three Forks, Eric Van Steenburg.
  • Jackson Olliff, Business Accounting, Bozeman, Marc Giullian.
  • Jacob Zink, Business Management and Political Science, Gig Harbor, Wash., Steve Swinford.


College of Education, Health and Human Development

  • Lori Reynolds, Human Development and Family Science, Bozeman, Mitch Vaterlaus.
  • Camille Sampley, Elementary Education and French and Francophone Studies, Eugene, Ore., James Hicks.
  • Moriah Schutt, Sustainable Food and Bioenergy Systems, Kalispell, Toots Taszut.
  • Carly Templeton, Food and Nutrition – Dietetics, Lincoln, Jessi Peterson.


Norm Asbjornson College of Engineering

  • Kyndra Buglione, Electrical Engineering, Great Falls, Joseph Shaw.
  • Carl Griffin, Mechanical Engineering Technology, Richmond, Minn., Robert Kincaid.
  • Amanda Guilland, Computer Science, Billings, Mary Ann Cummings.
  • Caleb Jaramillo, Mechanical Engineering, Castle Rock, Colo., Susan Kelly.
  • Jeana Marx, Industrial and Management Systems Engineering, Belgrade, Sage Kittleman.
  • Logan Schmidt, Chemical Engineering, Spring Valley, Calif., Ryan Anderson.
  • Calvin Servheen, Industrial Engineering and Directed Interdisciplinary Studies, Missoula, Ilse-Mari Lee.
  • Madison Torrey, Environmental Engineering, Fort Collins, Colo., Joseph Shaw.
  • Kaylan Wait, Biomedical Engineering, Durango, Colo., Scott Monfort.


College of Letters and Science

  • Gloria Baldevia, Economics, Sibalom, Philippines, Ilse-Mari Lee.
  • Allan Faulkner, Physics, Hopkinton, N.H., Carla Riedel.
  • Natasha Gesker, Mathematics, Statistics, Kalispell, Jess Carroll.
  • Bayli Hayes, Physics, Soda Springs, Idaho, Carla Riedel.
  • Nickolas Lambert, Psychology, Bozeman, Peter Helm.
  • Madeline Miller, Pre-Med Psychology, Milwaukee, Wis., Grant Carroll.
  • Eli Quist, Applied Mathematics, Excelsior, Minn., Brittany Fasy.
  • Melissa Ramirez, Political Science, Maxwell, Calif., Shannon Bangen.
  • Kass Thompson, Cell Biology and Neuroscience, Littleton, Colo., Carmen McSpadden.


Mark and Robyn Jones College of Nursing

  • Janelle Borgen, Nursing, Kalispell, Columbia Falls, Angele Romero.
  • Nicole Ford, Nursing, Bozeman, Whitefish, Nita Wade.
  • Christina Reza, Nursing, Great Falls, Bloomfield, N.M., Susan Luparell.


Graduate School

  • Chidimma Ifeh, Sustainable Food Systems, Master’s Program, Anambra, Nigeria, Wan-Yuan Kuo.
  • Jonmichael Weaver, Mechanical Engineering, Doctoral Program, Los Alamos, N.M., David Miller.


Gallatin College

  • Daniel Hill, Business Management Professional Certificate, Bozeman, Charly Malcolm.
  • Porter Young, Welding Technology, Santa Rosa, Calif., Aubrin Heinrichs.