Governors Advocate for End to Biden’s Halt on Natural Gas Export

A coalition of 25 Republican governors joined forces to issue a collective statement urging President Joe Biden to lift the current pause on new liquefied natural gas (LNG) export approvals. The governors expressed deep concern over the administration’s decision, emphasizing its adverse impact on both economic and national security, as well as the security of U.S. allies.

In their joint statement, the governors stated:

“As governors, we are very concerned by the Biden Administration’s move to pause approvals of new liquefied natural gas (LNG) export projects, especially after Iran’s attack on Israel last week. The U.S. is the world’s leading exporter of LNG, and the decision to pause new approvals undermines our economic and national security, and the security of our allies.

“It creates instability and threatens future energy security throughout the world at a time when our allies need us the most. It sends a message that the U.S. is not a reliable energy partner.

“We call on the Biden Administration to reverse course and lift the pause, allowing America to retain its global energy advantage ensuring Americans and our allies abroad have access to a steady supply of affordable energy.”

The governors emphasized the importance of ensuring a steady supply of affordable energy for Americans and their allies worldwide, and urged the Biden Administration to reconsider its stance on LNG export approvals.

Signatories of the statement include: Governor Kay Ivey (AL), Governor Mike Dunleavy (AK), Governor Sarah Sanders (AR), Governor Ron DeSantis (FL), Governor Brian Kemp (GA), Governor Brad Little (ID), Governor Eric Holcomb (IN), Governor Kim Reynolds (IA), Governor Jeff Landry (LA), Governor Tate Reeves (MS), Governor Mike Parson (MO), Governor Greg Gianforte (MT), Governor Jim Pillen (NE), Governor Chris Sununu (NH), Governor Doug Burgum (ND), Governor Kevin Stitt (OK), Governor Mike DeWine (OH), Governor Henry McMaster (SC), Governor Kristi Noem (SD), Governor Bill Lee (TN), Governor Greg Abbott (TX), Governor Spencer Cox (UT), Governor Glenn Youngkin (VA), Governor Jim Justice (WV), and Governor Mark Gordon (WY).

By: Montana Newsroom staff