Tag Archives: Wall Street Journal

Why Cash Returning From Overseas Isn't Likely to Create Jobs—and Might Even Reduce Them

Analysts predict Pfizer, which has about $22 billion in cash overseas, would use repatriated money to do a big deal. Photo: dominick reuter/Agence France-Presse/Getty Images By Jonathan D. Rockoff Jonathan D. Rockoff The Wall Street Journal Biography @jonathanrockoff Jonathan.Rockoff@wsj.com Dec. 16, 2017 8:00 a.m. ET 32 COMMENTS Republican lawmakers say their tax overhaul would spur Read More…

Corporate Accountants Can Cancel Christmas

Lawmakers aim to vote on the Republican tax overhaul before Christmas. Photo: mandel ngan/Agence France-Presse/Getty Images By Tatyana Shumsky Tatyana Shumsky The Wall Street Journal Biography @MissShumsky Tatyana.Shumsky@wsj.com Dec. 15, 2017 9:37 p.m. ET 8 COMMENTS There may be few tidings of comfort and joy among those preparing corporate balance sheets should Congress pass—and President Read More…

Mining World's Ultimate Deal-Maker Struggles in Frugal Era

Mick Davis this year closed a $5.6 billion investment fund, X2 Resources, without a single deal. Photo: Rob Stothard for The Wall Street Journal By Scott Patterson Scott Patterson The Wall Street Journal Biography @pattersonscott scott.patterson@wsj.com Dec. 16, 2017 8:00 a.m. ET 0 COMMENTS LONDON—The troubles of Mick Davis, a mining executive behind some of Read More…

Uber Hacked and Surveilled Rivals, Alleges Ex-Manager in Letter

Uber Technologies headquarters in San Francisco. Photo: Eric Risberg/Associated Press By Jack Nicas and Jack Nicas The Wall Street Journal Biography @jacknicas jnicas Google+ Jack.Nicas@dowjones.com Greg Bensinger Greg Bensinger The Wall Street Journal Biography @GregBensinger Google+ Greg.Bensinger@wsj.com Updated Dec. 15, 2017 9:32 p.m. ET 2 COMMENTS In June 2016, Uber Technologies Inc. contractors trained by Read More…

U.S. Industrial Production Rose 0.2% in November

A worker assembling an engine for a skid steer loader construction vehicle at the JC Bamford Excavators Ltd. manufacturing plant in Pooler, Ga., in August. Photo: Luke Sharrett/Bloomberg News By Sarah Chaney Sarah Chaney The Wall Street Journal Biography @sechaney sarah.chaney@wsj.com Updated Dec. 15, 2017 2:45 p.m. ET 2 COMMENTS WASHINGTON—U.S. industrial production rose slowly Read More…

A Christmastime Tax Cut for Some, a Lump of Coal for Others

WSJ’s Richard Rubin takes us to a weird, wacky Santa’s workshop to explain who’s getting Christmas presents and who’s getting coal with the GOP tax bill. Watch the video above without a subscription. By Richard Rubin Richard Rubin The Wall Street Journal Biography @RichardRubinDC richard.rubin@wsj.com Updated Dec. 14, 2017 3:33 p.m. ET 602 COMMENTS The tax bill Read More…