Tag Archives: Wall Street Journal

Tod's Loafers Have Won Over Royals and Hollywood—But Not Many Millennials

Tod’s has recently boosted spending for special events and more-rapid product launches; the brand’s runway show during Milan fashion week in September. Photo: Jacopo Raule/Getty Images 16 Comments By Eric Sylvers Eric Sylvers The Wall Street Journal Biography @EricSylvers eric.sylvers@wsj.com Feb. 16, 2019 12:00 p.m. ET CASETTE D’ETE, Italy— Tod’s TOD -0.70% SpA built a Read More…

Amazon Leaves New York but Not the Spotlight

Activists and community members who opposed Amazon’s plan to move into Queens rally on Thursday in celebration of Amazon’s decision to pull out of the deal. Photo: Drew Angerer/Getty Images 134 Comments By Chip Cutter and Chip Cutter The Wall Street Journal Biography @ChipCutter chip.cutter@wsj.com Vanessa Fuhrmans Vanessa Fuhrmans The Wall Street Journal Biography Vanessa.Fuhrmans@wsj.com Read More…

Airline Bookings to Offer New Gender Options

More gender options are needed in airline ticketing, as passengers are asked to provide personal data that must match their government-issued IDs. Photo: Elijah Nouvelage/Bloomberg News 44 Comments By Alison Sider Alison Sider The Wall Street Journal Biography @alyrose alison.sider@wsj.com Feb. 16, 2019 10:57 a.m. ET Airlines are planning to change their reservation systems to Read More…

Chinese, U.S. Trade Negotiators Inch Toward a Broad Agreement

U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer, center, shakes hands with Chinese Vice Premier Liu He, right, in Beijing on Friday. Photo: pool/Reuters 126 Comments By Lingling Wei and Lingling Wei The Wall Street Journal Biography Lingling.Wei@wsj.com Bob Davis Bob Davis The Wall Street Journal Biography @bobdavis187 Bob.Davis@wsj.com Updated Feb. 15, 2019 7:17 a.m. ET BEIJING—China and Read More…

United Tech to Break Itself Into Three Companies

Among the items United Technologies produces are Pratt & Whitney jet engines. Photo: Chris Ratcliffe/Bloomberg News 20 Comments By Dana Mattioli and Dana Mattioli The Wall Street Journal Biography @DanaMattioli dana.mattioli@wsj.com Thomas Gryta Thomas Gryta The Wall Street Journal Biography @tgryta Thomas.Gryta@wsj.com Updated Nov. 26, 2018 6:58 p.m. ET United Technologies Corp. UTX 2.92% has Read More…

Airbnb Hires New CFO From Amazon

Dave Stephenson Photo: Olli Tumelius/Airbnb 3 Comments By Nina Trentmann Nina Trentmann The Wall Street Journal Biography @Nina_Trentmann nina.trentmann nina.trentmann@wsj.com Updated Nov. 26, 2018 4:29 p.m. ET Airbnb Inc. has hired another executive from Amazon.com Inc., this time naming Dave Stephenson as chief financial officer of the vacation-rental portal ahead of a potential initial public Read More…

Second-Tier Cities Boast First-Rate Job Figures

The unemployment rate in Raleigh, N.C., is below the national average. Above, runners in the city in April. Photo: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for Rock ‘N’ Roll Marathon 128 Comments By Shayndi Raice Shayndi Raice The Wall Street Journal Biography @Shayndi www.facebook.com/shayndi Shayndi.Raice@wsj.com Nov. 24, 2018 8:00 a.m. ET The New York and Washington regions were Read More…

Lettuce ProducersPrepare Labeling Changes in Response to NewE. Coli Outbreak

A shopper selects a head of green lettuce from the vegetable shelves at the East End Food Co-op Federal Credit Union in Pittsburgh, Nov. 20. Photo: Jessie Wardarski/Associated Press 94 Comments By Jesse Newman Jesse Newman The Wall Street Journal Biography @jessenewman13 jesse.newman@wsj.com Updated Nov. 26, 2018 9:26 p.m. ET Food regulators are closing in Read More…

How a History of Discord Fuels Today's U.S.-China Trade Tensions

President Trump and Chinese President Xi Jinping meet later this week in Argentina. Photo: Andy Wong/Associated Press 37 Comments By Gerald F. Seib Gerald F. Seib The Wall Street Journal Biography @GeraldFSeib Jerry.Seib@wsj.com Nov. 26, 2018 11:31 a.m. ET The Republican White House, responding to business complaints of Chinese theft of intellectual property and trade Read More…

IBM CEO Criticizes Big Internet Platforms for Mishandling Customers' Data

‘The genesis of the trust crisis is the irresponsible handling of personal data by a few dominant consumer-facing platforms,’ Ginni Rometty said. Photo: Michael Short/Bloomberg News 12 Comments By Daniel Michaels Daniel Michaels The Wall Street Journal Biography @DanMichaelsWSJ Dan.Michaels@wsj.com Updated Nov. 26, 2018 3:31 p.m. ET BRUSSELS— International Business Machines Corp. Chief Executive Ginni Read More…

U.S.-China Trade Fight Risks Fragmenting Global Market, Says Beijing Ambassador

Cui Tiankai, China’s ambassador to the U.S. Photo: chris kleponis/Agence France-Presse/Getty Images 18 Comments Nov. 26, 2018 5:32 a.m. ET U.S.-China economic relations are at their lowest point since China joined the World Trade Organization in 2001. Each side has whacked each other with tariffs and other restrictions—with more perhaps on the way. At the Read More…

Chinese Scientist Claims World's First Genetically Modified Babies

A researcher performs a CRISPR/Cas9 process, a gene-editing tool that is cheap, easy-to-use and powerful. Photo: Gregor Fischer/DPA/Zuma Press 170 Comments By Preetika Rana and Preetika Rana The Wall Street Journal Biography @Preetika_Rana preetika.rana@wsj.com Wenxin Fan Wenxin Fan The Wall Street Journal Biography @xinwenfan wenxin.fan@wsj.com Nov. 26, 2018 1:51 p.m. ET HONG KONG—A Chinese scientist Read More…

France and Germany Step In to Circumvent Iran Sanctions

A shop at the Grand Bazaar in Tehran in September. Members of the European Union are trying to establish a channel for payments to sustain trade with Iran. Photo: Vahid Salemi/Associated Press 135 Comments By Laurence Norman Laurence Norman The Wall Street Journal Biography @laurnorman laurence.norman@wsj.com Nov. 26, 2018 12:00 p.m. ET BRUSSELS—France and Germany Read More…

The U.S. Housing Boom Is Coming to an End, Starting in Dallas

548 Comments By Laura Kusisto Laura Kusisto The Wall Street Journal Biography @LauraKusisto Laura.Kusisto@wsj.com Nov. 26, 2018 11:01 a.m. ET Empty lots and newly built homes in the Edgestone At Legacy development in Frisco, Texas, last week. Photo: Laura Buckman for The Wall Street Journal PLANO, Texas—A half-hour drive straight north from downtown Dallas sits Read More…