Tag Archives: Wall Street Journal

Trump Steps Up Attacks on Fed Chairman Powell

President Donald Trump speaking with reporters during an interview with The Wall Street Journal at the White House’s Oval Office in Washington. Photo: T.J. Kirkpatrick for The Wall St 35 Comments By Michael C. Bender, Michael C. Bender The Wall Street Journal Biography @MichaelCBender mike.bender@wsj.com Rebecca Ballhaus, Rebecca Ballhaus The Wall Street Journal Biography @rebeccaballhaus Read More…

Target Undercuts Amazon With Free Two-Day Shipping

Target says it now fulfills about 50% of its digital orders at its stores and plans to fulfill over 90% of two-day orders from the stores. Photo: Antonio Perez/Chicago Tribune/TNS/Zuma Press 8 Comments By Khadeeja Safdar Khadeeja Safdar The Wall Street Journal Biography @khadeeja_safdar KhadeejaSyedaSafdar Google+ khadeeja.safdar@wsj.com Updated Oct. 23, 2018 5:51 p.m. ET Target Read More…

Manufacturers See Signs of New Risks

Caterpillar said tariffs the Trump administration implemented earlier this year on foreign steel and aluminum made parts for the machinery it manufactures in the U.S. more expensive. Photo: Callaghan O’Hare/Bloomberg News 12 Comments By Austen Hufford and Austen Hufford The Wall Street Journal Biography @austenhufford austen.hufford austen.hufford@wsj.com Doug Cameron Doug Cameron The Wall Street Journal Read More…

GOP Latches Onto Vague Trump Tax Statement as Campaign Nears End

Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee Kevin Brady (R., Texas) speaking to the media in April. Photo: joshua roberts/Reuters 0 Comments By Richard Rubin Richard Rubin The Wall Street Journal Biography @RichardRubinDC richard.rubin@wsj.com Oct. 23, 2018 5:44 p.m. ET WASHINGTON—Republicans are attempting to turn a vague tax-cut promise floated by President Trump into Read More…

Behind Bayer's Tough Defense of Roundup

Bayer’s leaders have developed a tough legal approach to product-liability claims. Photo: Martin Meissner/Associated Press 11 Comments By Sara Randazzo, Sara Randazzo The Wall Street Journal Biography @sara_randazzo sara.randazzo@wsj.com Jacob Bunge and Jacob Bunge The Wall Street Journal Biography @jacobbunge jacob.bunge@wsj.com Ruth Bender Ruth Bender The Wall Street Journal Biography @RuthBenderWSJ ruth.bender@wsj.com Oct. 23, 2018 Read More…

Global Postal System Fast-Tracks Rate Review Following U.S. Gripe

The Universal Postal Union is reviewing rates after the Trump administration last week began the process of withdrawing from the organizaton because of preferential discounts to China and other nations. A postal worker in Bangalore, India, rode a bicycle with mail for delivery. Photo: nv/epa-efe/rex/shutterstock/EPA/Shutterstock 5 Comments By Heidi Vogt Heidi Vogt The Wall Street Read More…

Higher Prices for Burgers Help McDonald's Sales

McDonald’s Corp. reported its quarterly results Tuesday. Photo: Caitlin O’Hara/Bloomberg News 0 Comments By Julie Jargon Julie Jargon The Wall Street Journal Biography @juliejargon Julie.Jargon@wsj.com Updated Oct. 23, 2018 12:12 p.m. ET McDonald’s Corp. MCD 5.79% is still struggling to attract more U.S. customers but it eked out higher sales this quarter by charging more Read More…

Verizon Adds Phone Customers But Oath Revenue Weakens

Verizon 5G wireless signage at the company’s booth during the Mobile World Congress Americas in Los Angeles in September. Photo: Patrick T. Fallon/Bloomberg News 0 Comments By Sarah Krouse Sarah Krouse The Wall Street Journal Biography @bysarahkrouse sarah.krouse@wsj.com Updated Oct. 23, 2018 12:06 p.m. ET Verizon Communications Inc. VZ 3.67% added to its pool of Read More…

United Tech Raises Targets, Waits on Rockwell Merger

An engine built by Pratt & Whitney, a division of United Technologies, on display in Washington, D.C., last year. Photo: Kevin Wolf/Associated Press 1 Comments By Thomas Gryta Thomas Gryta The Wall Street Journal Biography @tgryta Google+ Thomas.Gryta@wsj.com Updated Oct. 23, 2018 11:47 a.m. ET United Technologies Corp. UTX 1.20% sought to reassure investors that Read More…

How One Stubborn Banker Exposed a $200 Billion Russian Money-Laundering Scandal

5 Comments By Bradley Hope, Bradley Hope The Wall Street Journal Biography @bradleyhope bradley.hope@wsj.com Drew Hinshaw and Drew Hinshaw The Wall Street Journal Biography @drewfhinshaw drew.hinshaw@wsj.com Patricia Kowsmann Patricia Kowsmann The Wall Street Journal Biography @kowsmann Oct. 23, 2018 11:08 a.m. ET Howard Wilkinson, former Danske Bank employee and whistleblower. Photo: Christopher Nunn for The Read More…